Total Wellness Thursday: My day on a plate

To celebrate the launch of thefauxfeline, today will be the start of Total Wellness Thursdays including tutorials and tips on how to cleanse the body and mind, and focus on a better lifestyle. I truly believe that in order to perform at optimum level and look our best regardless of fashion, we have to feel our best first. What better way to do that by nourishing our bodies with healthy, nutrient packed foods. After all you are essentially what you eat! Without further a do here is my day on a plate: detoxing guide the healthy way.

7-8am As I wake up I always have hot water with lemon to jump start my day and flush all the toxins out of my body.

8am An egg white omelet with avocado, tomato and spinach is the ultimate combination of protein, carbs and healthy fats for the perfect savoury start to the day. Not only does eggs stave off hunger by making you feel fuller but it’s packed with essential nutrients that promote muscle growth, tissue repair and supercharge our fat burning metabolism. Why not take your eggs sunny side up and place them on a piece of whole grain toast! Another great combo could include peanut butter on whole wheat toast with freshly sliced banana on top. Skimping on breakfast is one of the worst things we can do for ourselves, this slows our metabolism down for the entire day causing us to hold onto more fat from what we consume instead of transforming the food into energy. Even if I don’t feel like anything, a piece of fruit is a good start just to crank up my metabolism.

11am Green tea is my go to morning coffee, except it reaps more healthy benefits such as it boosts metabolism. I generally prefer to have nuts in the morning such as almonds, walnuts. They are my absolute go to or I’d make my own trail mix if I’m feeling rather sluggish and need an energy boost (including pumpkin seeds, cranberries, apricots, goji berries, dried papaya and assorted nuts). Seasonal fruit is another great option, I generally buy organic food. Some good options include grapefruit, watermelon, pineapple, apples or strawberries combined with a small amount of Greek yoghurt. If I want all of them I’ll make a quick and easy fruit salad to satisfy my cravings without going overboard.

1pm It’s lunchtime and seeing as I’m usually on the go, a portable lunch is most appropriate. A super salad packed with spinach, cherry tomatoes, green olives, cucumber and some lean protein such as chicken or tuna should do the trick. I make my own dressing using a little bit of olive oil and vinegar ( try a cap full of both ). However I’m completely obsessed with my own take on the Classic Waldorf salad at the moment which includes beetroot, walnuts, spinach and feta. It’s perfect for summer, easy to make, light and filling. Did I forget to mention H20 is oh so important! Since our bodies are comprised of 75% water it’s important to make sure we stay hydrated and aim for one litre of water everyday (aside from teas).

3-4pm Snacks are my strengths when it comes to satisfying my body. They help me to increase my nutrient intake that I don’t receive already from my meals and also help to keep blood sugar levels stable so I don’t feel famished and over eat at my next meal. A great option includes chopped carrot and celery sticks with hummus or peanut butter.

5-6pm Dinner it’s usually either baked fish with a fresh salad on the side, or cooked chicken with steamed vegetables. In terms of dressings, again olive oil is a winner as it’s packed with omega 3’s so be sure to cook your food with it. Sometimes vegetable soup is great for when feeling sluggish or if you don’t have time, a tin of tuna on the go is also a great option.

8-9pm Between this time window frame I do like to indulge so my best option would be to have fruit such as raspberries and blueberries as they are packed with fibre and antioxidants. A cup of ginger or chamomile tea is soothing for night time too and help me to feel fuller. Sometimes I may feel like a few pieces of dark chocolate, and I highly recommend 70% cocoa and above aside from the fact it’s delicious, it has added benefits including is a powerful source of antioxidants, can lower blood pressure and improve cardiovascular health. If I ever feel too alert and need to slow it down a bit I’ll usually chow down on either a banana or some cherries as they promote the production of melatonin in our bodies which is known for sleeping better.

Leave a Reply

